Aberdeen Supporters Club (Orkney Branch) - Est. 1981 - 2024

Orkney Dons – About Us

The Aberdeen Football Supporters Club (Orkney Branch) was formed after the appearance of the following advert in The Orcadian on January 15th 1981, which reads as follows:-

The meeting was chaired by Mr Jimmy Dick being the clubs founder.

A committee was formed –

A constitution was approved, the objective of the club was to:-
(a) Be Non political
(b) To foster reunion and good fellowship among all football supporters
(c) To promote good comradeship among all football supporters
(d) To arrange and hold such social functions as may be considered best calculated to improve the life and spirit of the club, any profit resulting there from to be carried to funds of the club, and any loss incurred thereon to be borne by these funds.

The club’s greatest achievement was the trip to Gothenburg for the European Cup Winners Cup final in 1983 when the Dons bet the mighty Real Madrid, the club had chartered an aircraft, organised by Brian Kemp, the local British Airways manager,and Russell Groundwater direct from Kirkwall to Gothenburg, 48 supporters made the trip at £130 per head. They drank the plane dry on the way over, danced in the rain as Aberdeen lifted the cup and arrived back in Kirkwall at 2.30 am, the first Dons supporters in the country to make it back home. The Club’s largest membership was in 2019 when the total was 567 Aberdeen F.C’s largest supporters club beating our previous best 527 in late 80s

Past Chairmen

Jim Dick1981-85
Russell Groundwater1985-89
Pat Findlater1989-90
Albert Scollay1990-91
Marcus Shearer1991-94
Jim Baillie1994-96
Mike Parkins1996-99
Ian Scott1999-2002
Gary Farquhar2002-2004
Craig Spence2004-2007
Derek Aiken2007-2009
Mark Groundwater2009-2012
Greig Rorie2012-2015
Mervyn Ward2015-2018
Clive Aitken2018 – 2022
Mark Groundwater2022-present

Committee Members

Current committee:
Chairman – Mark Groundwater
Vice Chairman – Erik Firth
Secretary – Clive Aitken 
Treasurer – Clive Seatter
Membership Secretary – Clive Seatter 

Trip Convener – Mark Groundwater 
Website & Social Media Administrator – Justin Hay & Assistant Mervyn Ward